Model assessment · ghd

ghd Duet Style Hot Air Styler (Black, SKU 612) review

A corded black wet-to-style hot-air tool with four heated plates and a separate dry-hair Shine Shot mode; the manufacturer says this US edition is not universal voltage.

Sources checked 2026-10-29 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Black ghd Duet Style hot-air straightener with its cord and plates open
Official first-gallery image from black US SKU 612. It shows the black hybrid body; the sale badge and presentation box do not establish price or package contents. Image: ghd manufacturer product image
A useful fit for

A plausible corded hybrid for someone who wants a towel-dried-to-styled routine with a separate dry-only 365°F Shine Shot option, can use a suitable US supply, and can accept that exact plate width and cord length are not published here.

The main tradeoff

It is not a universal-voltage tool, and the manufacturer gives no numerical plate width or cord length on the exact US page. Wet-to-style and dry-only Shine Shot are different operating modes; neither is a manual heat adjustment or a reason to use Shine Shot on damp hair.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Can I start using Duet Style with dripping-wet hair?

No. ghd's product instructions say to remove excess water and towel-dry hair before Drying Mode. This is a specific towel-dried wet-to-style routine, not permission to use the tool on dripping-wet hair or to use Shine Shot on damp hair.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does a two-inch section instruction prove the black Duet plates are two inches wide?

No. The exact product page recommends manageable sections around two inches and says they should be no wider than the plates, but it does not state the actual plate width. The plate-width matcher leaves that field unknown rather than converting a sectioning tip into a product dimension.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the US black Duet be used with universal voltage abroad?

The exact US product page says this model is not universal voltage and is for optimal performance in the United States only. It remains a corded 2-mode appliance; check the exact label and instructions rather than assuming an adapter makes another supply compatible.

Explore this need in the finder →

The black ghd Duet Style, US SKU 612, is best understood as a corded hot-air straightening hybrid, not as a regular flat iron with a wet-hair exception. ghd combines airflow with four heated plates in a tool it calls Air-fusion. It has one route for towel-dried hair and a second, distinct dry-only mode. This review uses the exact black US product page and the US safety instructions; it is not a hands-on test and does not independently verify ghd’s performance claims.

Two routines live in one appliance

In Drying Mode, air and low-temperature plates work together as the tool moves through towel-dried hair. The page tells users to remove excess water, divide hair into manageable sections and move slowly from roots toward ends, repeating until dry. This routine is the reason the Duet belongs in a straightener assessment: it combines an airflow drying mechanism with plates that guide and smooth a section. It is a different workflow from a conventional iron used only after hair is completely dry.

After the hair is dry, Shine Shot stops the fan and switches the plates to a stated 365°F target. The maker says this mode is for dry hair only. It can be used as a regular flat-iron mode, but it is not a temperature dial or a safe way to use the tool on damp hair. Treating the wet-to-style and Shine Shot routes as separate operating plans avoids suggesting that one set of conditions works for both.

What the width information does—and does not—tell you

ghd recommends manageable sections around two inches wide and says a section should not exceed the plates’ width. That does not establish that the plate itself is exactly two inches. The product page gives no numerical plate measurement, so a finder asking for a strict maximum width cannot treat this as a documented match. That missing dimension matters to anyone selecting by section span, access at the roots or a compact tool preference.

The same caution applies to cord reach: the appliance is visibly corded, and the instructions say to plug it into mains power, but the exact US page does not give a cable length. The corded-choice matcher can recognize the power mode; the numeric cable filter must leave an unverified length out. A cord length is also not a safe distance from water, furniture or a heated surface.

Heat control and electrical limits

The wet-to-style plates are described as low-temperature, with their exact numeric target not stated. Shine Shot is explicitly listed at 365°F. The operating instructions explain how to select modes, but do not describe a user-set temperature. Thus a person who accepts a preset target can consider the dry-hair Shine Shot plan; the product still has a separate automatic wet-to-style plan. The visible difference is important: the device offers a mode choice, not a manually chosen temperature level.

The black US product page says “not universal voltage” and calls the model suitable for optimal performance in the United States only. That is a material travel limitation, not a detail to infer from another ghd iron. This remains a corded appliance and should be matched to the exact voltage label and instructions for the country of use. Do not assume a travel plug adapter can make the electrical supply compatible.

Tradeoffs and buying checks

The attraction is a one-tool path from towel-dried hair to a finished style, plus a conventional dry-only straightening mode. The tradeoffs are a bulkier airflow-and-plate mechanism than a simple slim iron, an unstated plate width and cable length, and no universal-voltage support on the US edition. A long or dense routine may need careful sectioning; ghd’s suggested size is a starting point, not a guarantee of time or coverage.

Before purchase, match the black finish and US SKU 612, check the current package and warranty, confirm access to a suitable US supply, and read the supplied instructions for the two modes, filter care, hot plates and cool-down. Use towel-dried rather than dripping-wet hair for Drying Mode, and reserve Shine Shot for fully dry hair. The manufacturer’s “no heat damage,” shine and energy statements are not independent test findings here; no measured performance, price, stock, seller rating or personal result is claimed.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer-preset temperature365°F
User-adjustable heat documentedNo
Heating systemAir-fusion hot air with four smart heated plates; separate dry-hair shine shot mode
Automatic sleep after inactivity30 min
Universal-voltage support statedNo
Corded operationYes
Manufacturer says use on dry hairNo

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Check your own fit against the published facts

Use the finder to compare plate width, heat controls, cord and voltage needs. A fit is not a performance guarantee.

In this review