Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What is the CA1174 plate width, and is it the same as CHI's one-inch Tourmaline models?
CHI identifies CA1174 as the 1.5-inch wide-plate Onyx Black iron, UPC 813843034688. CA1010 and CA2205 are different one-inch SKUs; CA2205 separately adds a 4.25-inch plate-length claim, which does not make it wider.
Explore this need in the finder →Does CA1174 let me change heat?
CHI explicitly lists an adjustable dial and 180–410°F endpoints. The product page does not give dial steps, a preset count or measured plate temperature, so the endpoint range is not a personal temperature recommendation.
Explore this need in the finder →What are CA1174's cord and travel claims?
CHI lists a 6.5-foot swivel cord and calls this model dual voltage. Its page does not state the numeric input range or confirm a plug adapter in the package; check the tool's label and destination plug requirements.
Explore this need in the finder →The CA1174 is CHI's Onyx Black 1.5-inch Tourmaline Ceramic wide-plate iron. This assessment uses the exact US listing for SKU CA1174 / UPC 813843034688, not the similarly named one-inch CA1010 or CA2205. CHI lists curved floating plates, an adjustable dial, dual-voltage support and a 6.5-foot swivel cord. Those are manufacturer specifications and claims; this is not a hands-on test.
What the wider plate changes—and what it cannot promise
At 1.5 inches wide, CA1174 is a wider option than the one-inch CA1010 and CA2205. CHI describes the plates as curved and floating, and calls the model a wide-plate iron. A wider plate changes the contact area available on a section; it does not by itself prove quicker styling, less damage, or easier handling for a particular person. CHI's general directions say to work in one-to-two-inch sections with controlled motion, but they are not a guarantee that every hair length or texture is suited to this width. The page does not provide a plate-length figure, so I would not infer that it covers more hair from root to tip than a longer plate.
The surface material is listed as Tourmaline Ceramic. CHI attributes even heat distribution, negative ions and far-infrared to its design and describes smoother, shinier results. Those are maker claims, not independent outcome measurements. They do not replace a review of the tool's settings, safe-use directions or suitability for your hair.
Adjustable dial, with endpoints but no stated increments
CHI identifies an adjustable temperature dial and lists a 180–410°F range. That supports the practical distinction that this is not described as a single fixed-temperature iron. The listing does not specify how many dial positions it has, the increment between positions, or the temperature at the plates under use. Treat the range as the maker's specification, not personalized heat advice; use the exact supplied instructions and the lowest effective setting for your own routine.
The manufacturer also lists a 30-second heat-up. I did not independently measure that claim, and it should not be read as a promise that every point on the plates reaches a stable temperature in that time. The product page gives no recovery-time, temperature-uniformity or test-condition data.
Cord and travel claims need one more check
This is a corded tool with a manufacturer-listed 6.5-foot swivel lead. The swivel can reduce the way the cord twists as the handle changes direction, but it does not lengthen the lead or establish a safe operating radius. CHI calls the iron dual voltage, a useful categorical travel claim; the page does not state the numeric input range or confirm a plug adapter in the package. Before travel, check the rating label on the delivered appliance and match the destination's voltage and plug shape separately. Do not assume a plug adapter converts voltage.
CHI lists an automatic shutoff after one hour and a thermal mat. The listing does not describe the mat's heat rating or say that it is suitable for storing a still-hot iron. It lists a two-year limited warranty, but seller, region and purchase terms should be confirmed against the exact offer.
How it compares within the Tourmaline choices
The distinction from CA1010 and CA2205 is not a finish option: their exact pages describe separate one-inch models, while CA1174 is 1.5 inches wide. CA2205 adds a stated 4.25-inch plate length; CA1174's length is not published. So a shopper choosing on width should not treat CA2205's longer plate as a wider one, or transfer its length claim to CA1174. Compared with a one-inch iron, the wider CA1174 makes sense only if that width fits the sections and access you intend to use; the available specifications do not establish a styling-speed winner.
Who may want it, and what remains uncertain
CA1174 is worth considering if a 1.5-inch plate, adjustable dial, corded operation and CHI's dual-voltage wording line up with your needs. It is a poor fit if you need documented fine-grained temperature steps, a numeric voltage range, an included travel adapter, a verified plate length, or a shorter/narrower plate. The actual controls and dimensions should be checked on the exact model rather than inferred from the images or from another CHI product.
CHI's exact US product page is the basis for these specifications. No model-specific owner-manual link appears on the page, so operating, cleaning and storage limits beyond its short styling directions remain unverified. Confirm the model code, UPC, supplied mat, instructions, electrical label, warranty and seller terms before purchase.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Plate width | 1.5 in |
|---|---|
| User-adjustable heat documented | Yes |
| Heating system | Chi lists tourmaline ceramic and claims even heat distribution, negative ions and far-infrared; claimed styling effects are not independently verified. |
| Manufacturer-listed heat-up time | 30 sec |
| Automatic sleep after inactivity | 60 min |
| Cable length | 6.5 ft |
| Universal-voltage support stated | Yes |
| Corded operation | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Check your own fit against the published facts
Use the finder to compare plate width, heat controls, cord and voltage needs. A fit is not a performance guarantee.
