Model assessment · CHI

CHI 1-Inch Tourmaline Ceramic Hairstyling Iron review

The onyx-black CA1010 combines one-inch curved floating plates, an adjustable 180–410°F dial and a 6.5-foot swivel cord.

Sources checked 2026-11-02 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

Open black CHI CA1010 iron with gold-toned plates and a power cord
Official CA1010 image from its exact model page; the page text supplies the one-inch width and adjustable-temperature range. Image: CHI manufacturer CA1010 exact-page primary image
A useful fit for

A one-inch corded option for shoppers who want an adjustable dial, maker-listed dual-voltage support and a 6.5-foot swivel cord, with a 180–410°F range and curved floating plates stated on the exact page.

The main tradeoff

CHI does not publish a numeric voltage range, confirm an adapter or identify dial increments. The standard plate length is not stated, so the extended length of CA2205 cannot be attributed to this model; the maker's performance benefits are not independently tested.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does CA1010 fit a one-inch maximum plate-width preference?

CHI lists a 1.00-inch plate width for exact Onyx Black SKU CA1010 / UPC 813843010101. The exact page calls the plates curved and floating but gives no plate length, so width alone cannot predict access or coverage for a particular section.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can CA1010's heat be changed?

The exact page lists an adjustable temperature dial with a minimum of 180°F and maximum of 410°F. It does not state dial steps, so the range is documented but the increments are unknown.

Explore this need in the finder →
What reach and travel-voltage claims apply to CA1010?

CHI lists a 6.5-foot swivel cord and dual-voltage support. No numerical input-voltage range or included adapter is stated; verify the iron's rating label and the destination's plug shape separately.

Explore this need in the finder →

A one-inch tool with a distinctly identified finish and SKU

CHI’s exact US page identifies the onyx-black 1-Inch Tourmaline Ceramic Hairstyling Iron as SKU CA1010, UPC 813843010101. That precise identity matters because the catalog also contains a separate CA2205 with “extended plate” in its name. Both are listed at one-inch width, but CA2205 has a separately stated plate length; that fact should not be carried over to CA1010. The page calls this model’s plates curved and floating, lists Tourmaline Ceramic, and describes reducing static and adding shine. Those descriptions and benefits are CHI’s claims, not comparative tests or guarantees for a specific user.

Width and plate shape are separate considerations

The documented plate width is 1.00 inch. That gives a clear numeric fit for a maximum-width finder, but it does not tell us how a particular person sections hair or how much hair a pass covers. CHI recommends dividing hair into one- to two-inch sections and using controlled motions. Its page’s “smooth, curl, and flip” language is a statement of intended versatility, not evidence of a particular styling outcome. The plates are called curved and floating, yet the manufacturer does not give their length in this listing. If extra plate length is the reason for considering this iron, review the CA2205 version separately rather than assuming CA1010 shares its 4.25-inch dimension. Unlike CA2205, the exact CA1010 page supplies no plate-length figure. Curved or floating construction does not establish a longer contact span, so compare the model codes carefully when plate length matters.

Adjustable range and listed heat-up time

CHI lists an adjustable temperature dial with endpoints of 180°F and 410°F. The page does not say how many dial positions exist or what increments the control uses. The range confirms that it is not presented as a single fixed-heat iron, but it is not a personalized temperature recommendation and not an independent measurement of plate temperature. The page also says 30-second quick heat-up and a one-hour automatic shutoff. I treat those as manufacturer specifications only: we did not time heat-up, verify shutoff behavior or test heat recovery.

Reach, outlet and travel details

This is a corded model. CHI lists a 6.5-foot swivel cord, dual-voltage support and a thermal mat. The cord length is notably shorter than the 11-foot lead advertised for the G2 variants, so compare the actual outlet-to-mirror route you need rather than assuming every CHI iron has the same reach. The exact CA1010 page does not provide a numerical input-voltage range or say a plug adapter is included. For travel, inspect the appliance’s electrical label and separately confirm the destination plug shape and seller package contents. A mat is listed on the product page, but that should not be treated as a heat rating, proof that the iron can be stored immediately, or a substitute for the instructions supplied with the exact item.

Who should keep it on the list?

CA1010 is a plausible shortlist candidate if a one-inch plate, adjustable 180–410°F dial, moderate cord length and maker-stated dual voltage match your non-negotiables. It is a weaker research fit when you require documented temperature increments, a numeric travel-voltage range, a specific plug adapter, or a confirmed plate length: the reviewed exact page does not supply those details. CHI prints overall dimensions as 5.32 by 2.25 by 12 inches and a weight of 1.43 pounds, but does not explain how the measurements are oriented. They are not independent measurements, packed size or evidence of comfortable grip. A related comparison is the CA2205 extended-plate assessment; its 4.25-inch figure is plate length, not a wider plate. Read the current model-specific instructions for operating, cooling and cleaning rather than inferring care steps from the word “ceramic.”

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Plate width1 in
User-adjustable heat documentedYes
Heating systemChi describes tourmaline ceramic and even heat distribution; the reported frizz, static and shine benefits are maker claims, not independent outcome measurements.
Manufacturer-listed heat-up time30 sec
Automatic sleep after inactivity60 min
Cable length6.5 ft
Universal-voltage support statedYes
Corded operationYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Check your own fit against the published facts

Use the finder to compare plate width, heat controls, cord and voltage needs. A fit is not a performance guarantee.

In this review