Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
How wide are the GF9024A plates, and how does that differ from GF9021?
CHI lists GF9024A at 1.50 inches, compared with 1.00 inch for Ruby Anniversary GF9021. The extra half-inch is a real documented width difference, not a promise of faster styling or of a better result; choose a maximum that reflects the sections you prefer to work with.
Explore this need in the finder →Does the word Digital mean GF9024A satisfies adjustable-heat matching?
No matching claim is made from the name or pictured controls alone. CHI's exact page lists a maximum up to 410°F, while its hero image shows 425°F on the display; no model-specific instructions were linked or located to explain settings or reconcile the discrepancy. Heat adjustability remains unknown, so the tool does not match either essential fixed or adjustable heat.
Explore this need in the finder →Is GF9024A a corded dual-voltage travel option?
CHI lists a 360-degree swivel cord and dual voltage for international travel. The page does not specify a numeric input range or cord length, and it does not establish an included plug adapter. Verify the rating label and seller package if exact voltage or reach matters.
Explore this need in the finder →This research-based assessment covers the exact U.S. CHI LAVA Ruby Anniversary Edition 1.5-inch Digital Hairstyling Iron, SKU GF9024A. It is a different configuration from the one-inch GF9021: CHI lists a 1.50-inch plate, floating-plate construction and a digital display, while the one-inch model lists a 1.00-inch plate and a 392°F preset. The difference is not cosmetic, and neither sibling's control or cable evidence can be borrowed for the other.

The one-and-a-half-inch plates define its fit
CHI lists GF9024A's floating plates at 1.5 inches wide. Against the Ruby Anniversary 1-inch GF9021, that is a clear half-inch increase in plate width. If your chosen maximum is 1.25 inches, GF9024A is outside it; if your maximum is 1.5 inches or more, the documented width fits. A broader plate may cover more across a section, while a narrower one may be easier to position on smaller sections. Those are tradeoffs to consider—not measured evidence that one tool is faster, safer, easier to handle or suitable for a specific hair texture.
The page lists overall dimensions of 14 by 4.75 by 4 inches and weight of 1.8 pounds. Treat those as manufacturer specifications and keep them separate from the plate-width number. CHI says the plates float, but the exact page does not quantify their movement, plate alignment, pressure or performance. Its Volcanic Lava and ceramic-heater language is a description of the design; it is not an independently verified claim about heat consistency or hair condition.
“Digital” is not enough to resolve a real temperature conflict
CHI names GF9024A a “Digital Hairstyling Iron.” The exact page lists a maximum temperature “up to 410°F,” but the official hero image shows 425°F on the display and includes plus/minus controls beside it. The written specification and pictured value do not agree. The image indicates a display is present; it does not establish which settings the user can select, whether 425°F is an actual supported target, or whether the product-page maximum is current. No exact GF9024A manual or operating guide was linked from the manufacturer page or located in this research to reconcile the statements.
For that reason, the reviewed facts do not classify GF9024A as either a fixed-temperature or user-adjustable match, and they do not set a verified maximum temperature. The controls may look self-explanatory in a photograph, but a button graphic is not an operating sequence. A shopper for whom a certain temperature range or a particular control mode is essential should check the instructions supplied with the exact SKU and the rating/control label before relying on either claim. Do not substitute the GF9021's 392°F preset or its control uncertainty for evidence about GF9024A.
The manufacturer also says this model has a Rapid Ceramic heater and a one-hour automatic shut-off. “Rapid” is not a numeric heat-up time, and the shut-off claim is not a reason to leave a heated tool unattended. The product page's broad claims about smooth or salon-quality results are not independent tests and should not be read as guarantees for a particular hair type, technique or outcome.
Dual voltage is documented; cable reach is not
The exact GF9024A page states dual voltage for international travel and a 360-degree swivel cord. That supports a corded travel-voltage scenario, but CHI does not give a numeric cable length or print the actual input range on the reviewed page. “Swivel” describes how the connection moves; it is not a measurement. Verify the unit's rating label for the destination and confirm that any plug adapter you need is separate and suitable. The source does not say a travel adapter is included.
Because the cable length is unknown, this model cannot satisfy a positive minimum-reach filter even though a cord is visible or implied. It also is not cordless: its documented operating setup is a corded straightener. Keep power source, travel voltage and numeric reach as separate questions; a positive answer to the first two does not fill the missing third value.
Confirm what the Ruby package actually contains
CHI's product page lists a free 2-ounce 44 Iron Guard spray and a CHI LAVA rock bracelet with the straightener. Check the exact GF9024A retail package and the offer being considered, because a retailer's bundle can change. The anniversary designation and red finish identify this edition, not a performance tier. The page claims Volcanic Lava technology based on the ceramic platform; there is no independent comparison here against the GF9021 or another CHI model.
For a shopper comparing the two Ruby Anniversary irons, the defensible distinction is simple: GF9021 is the narrower one-inch model with an 11-foot cable and a 392°F preset statement; GF9024A is wider at 1.5 inches, has floating plates and a pictured digital display, but its page maximum conflicts with the image and its cable length is not stated. Both pages report dual voltage and the same named spray-and-bracelet inclusions. That comparison can inform a width or documented travel-voltage decision, but it cannot tell you which iron will produce a preferred result or whether either heat control matches your routine without fuller instructions.
Bottom line
GF9024A is a documented 1.5-inch, floating-plate, corded, dual-voltage CHI LAVA iron with a digital display and a one-hour shut-off claim. The unresolved 410°F-versus-425°F discrepancy, undefined heat controls and unstated cord length are material limits, not minor omissions. It is a reasonable comparison candidate when width and stated dual-voltage support are what matter and heat-control class/reach do not; it should not be presented as a verified adjustable-temperature or cable-length choice until the exact model instructions settle those fields.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Plate width | 1.5 in |
|---|---|
| Heating system | Chi states chi volcanic lava technology with a rapid ceramic heater; these are manufacturer descriptions, not independent heat or hair-result measurements. |
| Automatic sleep after inactivity | 60 min |
| Universal-voltage support stated | Yes |
| Corded operation | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Check your own fit against the published facts
Use the finder to compare plate width, heat controls, cord and voltage needs. A fit is not a performance guarantee.