Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What width does CHI list for GF8300, and is it the same size as GF8215?
The exact GF8300 page lists 1.50-inch plates, while GF8215 is a separate 1.00-inch configuration. The half-inch difference is a published dimension, not a prediction of faster styling, suitable section size or root access.
Explore this need in the finder →Does GF8300 document user-adjustable heat?
Yes. CHI identifies an adjustable digital display and a 200–450°F minimum-to-maximum span, with an up/down selection and a temperature-unlock instruction. The page does not state the increments; the maximum is not personalized heat advice.
Explore this need in the finder →What does the exact GF8300 page document about cord reach and travel voltage?
CHI lists an 11-foot professional swivel cord and says dual voltage. It does not print a numerical input range or confirm an adapter. The cable length is not a safe-use radius; check the tool label and plug requirements for the destination.
Explore this need in the finder →This is a source-based assessment of the exact U.S. CHI LAVA 1.5-inch Volcanic Ceramic Hairstyling Iron, SKU GF8300—not a hands-on review. CHI lists a 1.50-inch plate, an adjustable digital display with a 200–450°F span, an 11-foot swivel cord and dual-voltage wording. This is a distinct configuration from the one-inch GF8215, even though the GF8215 page also links to GF8300 as a separate size option.

A separate 1.5-inch configuration, not a cosmetic GF8215 variant
The exact manufacturer page identifies GF8300 as a 1.5-inch tool and gives UPC 633911815045. That matters because the neighboring GF8215 is explicitly the one-inch version: a shopper comparing widths should treat the models as different working geometries, not as a finish swap. The wider span may suit someone who prefers a broader plate area, while a narrower plate can be easier to position on small sections. Those are practical fit considerations, not findings about which tool is faster or produces a better finish.
CHI calls the plates extended and floating, but it does not publish a numerical plate length on this exact page. The listed 1.5 inches is plate width, not the front-to-back length. The page describes a volcanic-lava ceramic surface and suggests reduced damage, smoothness and shine; those are manufacturer claims. I did not independently test the surface, heat distribution, glide, frizz, shine, breakage or styling results. A material label is not evidence that every hair type needs the same temperature or technique.
The heat display is adjustable, with an unspecified increment
CHI calls the digital display adjustable and lists minimum and maximum temperatures of 200°F and 450°F. Its page directions say to turn the iron on with the power button, select a temperature with the up/down buttons, press the power button to unlock or change a setting, and press the power button once to turn it off. This supports classifying GF8300 as adjustable rather than as a single-preset iron. The page does not state the selectable increments or offer a detailed temperature-by-hair-type chart, so do not infer a continuous range or a preferred setting from the endpoints.
The same page names temperature locking and Smart Chip Sensor Technology for fast heat recovery. Those are listed features; no independent lock-use, warm-up or recovery test was performed. The stated 450°F ceiling is a specification, not individualized advice. Follow the instructions supplied with the exact unit and use the lowest setting that is suitable for your routine, rather than treating a maximum as a target.
Cord reach and voltage are documented in different ways
CHI lists an 11-foot (3.35 m) professional swivel cord, so this is a corded tool with a known manufacturer-stated cable length. That helps compare outlet reach, but cable length does not create a safe working radius or replace a heat-safe surface and careful setup. The page also says “dual voltage,” which supports a maker-stated travel-voltage match. It does not give a numeric input range, explain the appliance’s voltage-selection behavior or say that a plug adapter is included. Check the rating label on the delivered tool and the plug style at the destination; an adapter changes plug shape, not voltage.
The exact page lists one-hour automatic shutoff. This is a model-specific listed feature, not a substitute for turning the tool off and unplugging it when finished. The captured page does not spell out dry-hair restrictions, cleaning steps, cooling time or storage instructions. Use the exact package instructions for those points; do not borrow a care rule from another LAVA model simply because the family name is shared.
Where it differs from other LAVA choices
The closest width comparison in the saved CHI set is GF8215 at one inch: both exact pages identify adjustable heat, a listed 11-foot cord, temperature locking and dual-voltage wording, while GF8300 is the 1.5-inch option. The shared family does not make their plate widths interchangeable. The Special Edition GF1187 is also 1.5 inches and adds a listed five-inch plate length plus a free iron case, while the reviewed GF8300 page does not list those package details. By contrast, LAVA 4D GF1042 is 1.25 inches and uses a documented five-temperature preset scheme with two inner and two outer plate surfaces. These are distinct functional differences, not evidence that one model has superior results.
The page lists GF8300 at 2.08 pounds and gives overall dimensions of 5.225 by 5 by 11 inches. These are manufacturer-published values, not measurements taken for this review; CHI does not explain the dimension convention. They should not be interpreted as the plate width, packed footprint or clearance required around a hot tool. The page lists a two-year warranty, but does not identify an included case, mat or adapter. Verify the exact GF8300 SKU and package rather than assuming another LAVA offer’s accessories are included.
Bottom line
GF8300 is a source-documented wide-plate option: 1.5-inch floating plates described as extended, adjustable 200–450°F heat, an 11-foot swivel cord, dual-voltage wording and a one-hour shutoff. Its main compromise is also clear: a 1.5-inch span will not be the right fit for everyone, and the page leaves temperature increments, numerical input voltage, adapter inclusion and plate length unspecified. If your essential needs are a narrower plate, confirmed exact voltage range or detailed model-specific care instructions, verify those points before choosing. The manufacturer’s performance language remains a claim, not a test result from this assessment.
CHI’s exact GF8300 product information is the primary source used here.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Plate width | 1.5 in |
|---|---|
| User-adjustable heat documented | Yes |
| Heating system | Chi describes a volcanic-lava and chi ceramic plate surface; styling, damage and heat claims remain manufacturer statements, not independent measurements. |
| Automatic sleep after inactivity | 60 min |
| Cable length | 11 ft |
| Universal-voltage support stated | Yes |
| Corded operation | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Check your own fit against the published facts
Use the finder to compare plate width, heat controls, cord and voltage needs. A fit is not a performance guarantee.