Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What plate width does CHI list for GF0096?
CHI lists a 1.50-inch plate width for GF0096 and separately describes its plate surface as five inches long. Width and length are different specifications and neither predicts a particular result or time savings.
Explore this need in the finder →Is GF0096 documented as adjustable rather than fixed heat?
The exact page identifies a digital, adjustable display and lists 200–450°F. It supports an adjustable-heat requirement; the page does not specify adjustment increments or the control sequence.
Explore this need in the finder →Does GF0096 have a documented cord length for an outlet-reach check?
CHI lists an 11-foot cord for GF0096. This is a product cable length, not a safe-use radius. The exact page does not document universal-voltage support; check the appliance label before international use.
Explore this need in the finder →This is a source-based assessment of the exact U.S. CHI LAVA 1.5 Inch Hairstyling Iron, SKU GF0096—not a hands-on review. CHI’s current page identifies a 1.50-inch volcanic-lava ceramic plate, an extra-long five-inch plate surface, digital adjustable heat, temperature locking, an 11-foot cord and a 200–450°F range. This model is related to the one-inch GF0099, but its wider plates and different explicitly listed features deserve a separate fit assessment.

Width and plate length describe different dimensions
CHI lists this model at 1.50 inches wide and describes five-inch extra-long plates. Width is the side-to-side span relevant to a maximum-width comparison; length is the front-to-back plate dimension the maker says is extended. Neither dimension independently proves a faster routine, a particular section size, better access near the scalp or comfortable handling. The 1.5-inch width is half an inch broader than the sibling GF0099’s one-inch plate, while the five-inch length is separately stated for GF0096. Do not use the sibling’s dimensions to fill gaps in this assessment.
The product description associates the longer plates with larger sections and reduced styling time. That is the manufacturer’s benefit claim, not a result measured in this review. How much hair fits safely and consistently depends on individual technique and the exact instructions. CHI’s volcanic-lava ceramic terminology is also a product description rather than an independent materials analysis; no durability, temperature mapping, glide, shine, frizz or hair-damage test was conducted here.
Selectable heat has a stated range
The exact GF0096 page says the digital temperature display is adjustable and lists a minimum of 200°F and a maximum of 450°F. It also names a temperature-locking feature. Together, these statements support this model as an adjustable-heat option rather than a single-preset plan. The page does not publish the adjustment increment or the button sequence for changing or locking a setting. “Temperature locking” is a named feature, not a complete operating procedure, and no exact GF0096 owner manual was linked from the reviewed page.
CHI additionally describes smart-chip sensor technology for fast heat recovery. That is the manufacturer’s technology claim; it does not establish measured recovery time or steady plate temperature under styling. The upper limit should not be treated as personal heat advice. Follow the delivered model instructions for choosing and locking settings, use limitations, safety and care instead of inferring a routine from a product benefit paragraph.
The cord is documented; international voltage is not
CHI lists an 11-foot (3.35 m) cord, so the published plan is corded and has a stated cable length. The exact GF0096 page does not state dual-voltage or universal-voltage operation. That omission is unknown—not proof that the iron cannot work on another voltage, but also not a basis for matching an essential universal-voltage requirement. Check the appliance rating label and instructions before international use; confirm plug shape separately because an adapter cannot convert voltage.
The page does not list a one-hour shut-off for this exact model, so this review does not claim that feature from GF0099 or another LAVA variant. Nor does the published cable length establish a safe reach from any outlet. Use a dry, stable, heat-resistant setup and keep the tool clear of water, children and combustible materials in accordance with the exact supplied instructions. The inspected page does not provide a drying requirement, cool-down period, cleaning steps or storage method.
Check the identity and package before buying
The exact U.S. product page identifies GF0096 and UPC 633911868874. Its published specifications give dimensions of 14.375 by 5.625 by 3 inches and a weight of 2.0 pounds. These are the maker’s listed values, not independent measurements; overall body dimensions should not be substituted for the 1.50-inch plate width. The page does not state that a travel adapter, pouch, mat or other accessory is included. Confirm the full SKU, exact version and any advertised package contents with the seller rather than assuming that a related CHI LAVA offer has the same bundle.
The most useful comparison is with GF0099, not with an imagined performance tier. Both exact pages document adjustable 200–450°F heat and an 11-foot cord. GF0099 is the narrower one-inch tool and explicitly says dual voltage and one-hour shut-off; GF0096 is wider, calls out its five-inch extended plates, temperature lock and fast heat-recovery technology. GF0096’s exact page does not document dual voltage or auto shut-off, so those features remain unconfirmed here. This contrast preserves each model’s evidence rather than treating a shared brand family as a shared specification sheet.
Bottom line
GF0096 is the documented wider choice in this pair: a corded 1.5-inch iron with five-inch extended plates, adjustable 200–450°F heat, a temperature-locking feature, an 11-foot cord and maker-described fast heat recovery. Its model page does not verify universal voltage, automatic shut-off, a travel adapter or detailed operating directions. If width is the main distinction, compare its 1.5 inches with the one-inch GF0099; if travel voltage or an automatic-off feature is essential, verify the GF0096 label and instructions rather than borrowing GF0099’s claims.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Plate width | 1.5 in |
|---|---|
| User-adjustable heat documented | Yes |
| Heating system | Chi describes volcanic lava ceramic plates as chi ceramic combined with volcanic-lava material; material and styling benefits are manufacturer claims, not independent tests. |
| Cable length | 11 ft |
| Corded operation | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Check your own fit against the published facts
Use the finder to compare plate width, heat controls, cord and voltage needs. A fit is not a performance guarantee.