Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
What width and exact variant is the CHI G2 GF1595A?
The exact GF1595A page identifies the G2 1-Inch Professional Digital Hairstyling Iron, UPC 633911799161, with a one-inch plate. CHI's 5009 selector also lists a separate 1.25-inch size; match the GF1595A code rather than treating those sizes as interchangeable.
Explore this need in the finder →Is heat fixed or selectable on GF1595A?
CHI describes digital preset temperature options that the user selects and lists an 180–425°F range. The exact page does not specify the number or each preset value, so it supports selectable heat but not a claim of arbitrary continuous adjustment.
Explore this need in the finder →What cord and voltage support does GF1595A document?
CHI lists an 11-foot swivel cord and dual voltage. The exact page does not give a numeric input range or confirm an included plug adapter; check the appliance label and destination plug requirements before travel.
Explore this need in the finder →Identity: the one-inch G2, not the family selector
The CHI product family page numbered 5009 offers two plate-width choices, but its separate US listings identify GF1595A as the one-inch G2 and GF7057A as the 1.25-inch version. This assessment is for GF1595A, UPC 633911799161. That distinction matters when a listing uses “G2” without a suffix or width: a family name alone does not establish which tool is in the cart. CHI’s page describes titanium-infused ceramic plates, a ceramic heater, far-infrared heat and negative ions. Those are manufacturer-described materials and features, not independent proof of durability, temperature uniformity or a particular effect on hair.
What the one-inch width does—and does not—tell you
CHI lists a one-inch plate width for this exact SKU. That makes it a narrower documented option than the sibling 1.25-inch GF7057A, but width alone cannot establish that it will be more comfortable, faster or more effective for your hair. A practical comparison is to think about the section size and placement you want to control; the manufacturer’s own directions say to divide hair into one- to two-inch sections and use fluid, controlled motions. Those directions are not a promise that a one-inch plate fits every section or an independent test of coverage. The exact page does not give a plate length, so I do not infer its coverage from the photograph or the larger measurements listed for the appliance.
Preset selection is adjustable, but the steps are not specified
CHI says the G2 has digital temperature options that the user selects, along with color-coded recommended ranges. The individual product page lists a range from 180°F to 425°F. That is enough to distinguish the tool from a single fixed-temperature model, but not enough to say how many selections it offers, the value of each selection, or how far apart the settings are. The range also is not a recommendation for any particular hair type, nor is it an independently measured plate temperature. CHI lists a 40-second heat-up and one-hour automatic shutoff; both remain manufacturer specifications rather than results from our own testing.
Corded travel features and package checks
The exact page lists an 11-foot swivel cord and calls the iron dual voltage. These facts support a corded plan with maker-stated voltage support, but CHI does not publish a numeric input range or confirm that a plug adapter is included. Voltage compatibility and plug shape are separate checks: inspect the rating label for the exact GF1595A and confirm what the destination outlet requires before relying on a travel claim. CHI also lists a thermal mat and a two-year warranty. Verify the seller’s precise SKU, current warranty terms and package contents rather than assuming that every offer includes the same mat or other accessories.
Limits and who should compare another option
GF1595A is a reasonable research match for someone who wants one-inch plates, selectable digital presets, a long cord and a manufacturer-stated dual-voltage feature, while accepting that the preset count, step sizes and numeric voltage range are not established here. If exact temperature increments are essential, the page leaves that question unanswered; if you need a narrower cord reach, its listed 11 feet may be more than you want to manage. CHI’s listed body dimensions are not explained by a measurement convention, so they should not be treated as packed size or required workspace clearance. For a wider sibling, compare the separately identified GF7057A 1.25-inch G2 assessment; its width is a different model fact, not an interchangeable setting. No model-specific operating manual was linked from the exact pages reviewed, so use the current instructions supplied with the exact iron for operation, care and storage.
Key specifications
Key details at a glance
| Plate width | 1 in |
|---|---|
| User-adjustable heat documented | Yes |
| Heating system | Chi lists a ceramic heater, titanium-infused ceramic plates, far-infrared heat and negative ions; styling-effect and durability claims remain manufacturer statements. |
| Manufacturer-listed heat-up time | 40 sec |
| Automatic sleep after inactivity | 60 min |
| Cable length | 11 ft |
| Universal-voltage support stated | Yes |
| Corded operation | Yes |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this review
Sources for this assessment
Check your own fit against the published facts
Use the finder to compare plate width, heat controls, cord and voltage needs. A fit is not a performance guarantee.
