Model assessment · CHI

CHI Brilliance 1-Inch Black Titanium Hairstyling Iron review

A one-inch, corded CHI Brilliance iron with titanium plates, an LED temperature display, maker-listed adjustable 180–450°F settings, an 11-foot cord and stated dual-voltage support; the exact page also lists a 0.5-ounce leave-in serum bonus.

Sources checked 2026-11-01 · Our editorial approach

Review the exact model, limitations and buying checks on BuyerShortlists before choosing a seller. We may earn from qualifying purchases.

CHI Brilliance GFDB12 open one-inch iron with LED display, cord and small serum bottle
CHI official exact-page hero for GFDB12. It shows the Brilliance iron, display, cord and small serum bottle; the manufacturer page supplies the product specifications and inclusion statement. Image: CHI manufacturer product image
A useful fit for

A one-inch corded option to compare when adjustable heat is essential: CHI lists a 180–450°F span, an 11-foot cable, dual-voltage support, titanium plates and a 0.5-ounce Brilliance leave-in serum bonus.

The main tradeoff

The manufacturer page does not print the numerical input-voltage range, name a travel plug adapter, give temperature increments or provide a model-specific use manual. The stated range, material and promised styling benefits have not been independently tested; check the delivered rating label, package and instructions.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

What working width and plate material does CHI list for GFDB12?

The exact GFDB12 page lists a one-inch plate width and titanium plate material, with standard plate length. Its wider body dimensions are separate from the working plate width; neither the nominal width nor the maker's styling claims guarantee root access, comfort or speed.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is GFDB12 a fixed-preset or adjustable-heat iron?

CHI describes adjustable heat settings and lists 180°F minimum and 450°F maximum values alongside an LED temperature display. That supports an adjustable-control comparison, but the exact page does not state increments or a full control sequence; the range is not a recommended setting for a particular person.

Explore this need in the finder →
What do the GFDB12 page's cord and voltage statements establish for travel?

CHI lists an 11-foot cord and says the iron is dual voltage, so the reviewed plan is corded and meets an inclusive 11-foot reach threshold with stated voltage support. The page does not provide a numeric input range or confirm a supplied adapter; inspect the actual rating label and check destination plug requirements.

Explore this need in the finder →

CHI’s U.S. page identifies the Brilliance 1 Inch Black Titanium Hairstyling Iron as SKU GFDB12, UPC 633911784105. The configuration has a one-inch titanium plate, an LED temperature display, maker-described adjustable settings, an 11-foot cord and a dual-voltage statement. This is a source-based assessment of the published specification, not a hands-on review: no temperature, glide, recovery, comfort, durability or styling result was independently tested.

One-inch titanium plates, not a mini width

The listed plate width is 1.00 inch and the page calls its plate length standard. That gives a clear starting point for shoppers comparing the width of the heated surface, but does not tell you what section size to take, whether the tool will feel easy around a particular hairline, or how many passes a routine might need. CHI’s description says the plates glide smoothly and may mean fewer passes; treat that as the manufacturer’s claim rather than measured evidence. The product page also lists overall dimensions of 14.125 by 4.125 by 2.125 inches and a weight of 1.47 pounds. Those published body figures are not the plate size, packed dimensions or the amount of clearance needed around a hot tool.

Titanium distinguishes this model from CHI’s nearby LAVA straighteners whose exact pages describe volcanic-lava ceramic plates. That material label alone does not establish that one is gentler, faster or better for a particular texture. Compare the feature lists that matter to your routine instead of using material marketing as a proxy for a result.

Adjustable heat with a 180–450°F stated span

The GFDB12 page explicitly calls the heat settings adjustable, provides minimum and maximum figures of 180°F and 450°F, and lists an LED temperature display. That supports classifying it as adjustable rather than a single-temperature preset. CHI does not state the increments between settings, the exact button sequence, a model-specific temperature-lock feature or the time required to reach a selected setting on this page. The documented maximum is a specification, not personal advice about an appropriate temperature.

CHI also lists a one-hour automatic shut-off. The reviewed page gives no full operating, cleaning, cooling or storage procedure for GFDB12, so keep the instructions supplied with the exact tool and follow them. The shut-off statement should not replace turning the iron off, unplugging it or placing it on a suitable surface as directed by those instructions.

Corded use and dual-voltage wording

This is a corded tool, not a cordless travel iron. The manufacturer lists an 11-foot cord and describes the iron as dual voltage. Those two details address different questions: the first is a published cable length, and the second is a voltage-support claim. The product page does not print the numerical input range or say a travel plug adapter is included. Before taking it abroad, read the rating label on the delivered unit and check plug shape and destination requirements; do not assume that voltage wording makes every outlet physically compatible.

Neither a long cable nor the product description establishes a safe-use radius. Cord routing, heat-safe surfaces and the manufacturer’s use instructions still matter. No particular heat-up time, travel case, adapter or other accessory is confirmed in the page’s benefit list.

What the Brilliance package adds—and what remains unconfirmed

The exact U.S. page lists a free 0.5-ounce CHI Brilliance Shine Serum Leave-In Treatment with the iron. The official hero photograph also depicts a small Brilliance serum bottle beside the tool. Check the package description and seller offer for the exact item rather than assuming that a photo proves every accessory or that another bundle is identical. The page lists a two-year manufacturer warranty, but its full current terms and eligibility should be confirmed for the specific seller and purchase.

How it compares with other CHI one-inch options

CHI’s LAVA GF0099 is also listed with a one-inch plate, adjustable 200–450°F heat, an 11-foot cord, dual-voltage wording and one-hour shut-off; the GFDB12 page instead identifies titanium plates and a lower listed minimum of 180°F, and adds the Brilliance serum bonus. Both manufacturers’ ranges and descriptions should be checked against the exact unit, and neither page supplies a numeric voltage range or confirms an adapter.

The LAVA GF8215 is a separate one-inch model: its page lists 200–450°F adjustment, a temperature-lock feature, Smart Chip Sensor heat-recovery wording, an 11-foot cord and dual voltage. Those are stated features of GF8215, not evidence that GFDB12 has the same temperature lock or recovery system. If a specific control behavior or accessory is essential, verify it on the exact GFDB12 offer rather than transferring it from another CHI tool.

Who may want to shortlist it

GFDB12 is a documented comparison candidate for someone who wants a one-inch plate, adjustable heat and a corded tool with the maker’s dual-voltage claim and an 11-foot lead. It is not a match for a cordless-only routine, and the source record cannot resolve a requirement for a particular voltage input, a supplied plug adapter or fine-grained temperature steps. Compare those needs in the finder, then confirm the exact GFDB12/UPC, current package, written warranty and rating label before choosing an offer.

Key specifications

Key details at a glance

Plate width1 in
User-adjustable heat documentedYes
Heating systemChi lists titanium plates; no independent heat, glide, recovery or styling-result measurement was performed.
Automatic sleep after inactivity60 min
Cable length11 ft
Universal-voltage support statedYes
Corded operationYes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this review

Sources for this assessment

Check your own fit against the published facts

Use the finder to compare plate width, heat controls, cord and voltage needs. A fit is not a performance guarantee.

In this review